Micah - A Book of Judgment and Forgiveness

Micah - A Book of Judgment and Forgiveness
9 January, 2022

Micah is the only book in the Old Testament to name Bethlehem, a town “little among the thousands of Judah”, as the place where the Messiah would be born. Like the teachings of the prophet Isaiah, many of Micah's teachings are written in the style of Hebrew poetry.

Micah was from Moresheth-gath, a city of Judah located about 25 miles southwest of Jerusalem, near the Philistine city of Gath, a largely agricultural part of the country. The name Micah is a shortened form of Micaiah, which means in Hebrew, “Who is like the LORD?”

Micah directed much of his prophecy toward the powerful leaders of Samaria and Jerusalem, the capital cities of Israel and Judah, while Israel was imploding from the effects of evil and unfaithful leadership with a pattern of good kings and evil kings. This is why Micah was known as, “the Prophet of the Poor”.

Much of Micah’s indictment against Israel and Judah involves these nations’ injustice toward the lowly—unjust business dealings, robbery, mistreatment of women and children, and a government that lived in luxury off the hard work of its nation’s people.

Micah’s prophecy is divided into three major sections:

1.     The first section (chapters 1 and 2)

The Trial of the Capitals: An Announcement of Judgment on Samaria and Jerusalem.

2.     The second section (chapters 3, 4 and 5)

The Trial of the Leaders: A Contrast of Kingdoms. This includes warnings to Israel’s wicked leaders and promises of Israel’s eternal King and Messiah, the Lord Jesus Christ.

3.     The third section (chapters 6 and 7)

The Trial of the People: A Case against Sin and a Promise of Restoration.

Add Comment

You must login to add a comment. If you do not have an account, you may register for one. Registration is free!